Subscribe for 17¢ / day
Keith Brown

Lebanon High's Keith Brown (top) wrestles South Albany's Chris Anaya earlier this year. Brown is the top seed at 195 pounds for this weekend's Mid-Willamette Conference championships while Anaya is seeded sixth at 220. 

South Albany High and Lebanon received multiple No. 1 seeds for this weekend’s Mid-Willamette Conference championships.

Rebels teammates Chandler Villarreal (152 pounds) and Angel Huerta (220) are seeded atop their brackets, as are Lebanon’s Chase Miller (145), Joseph Blisseck (170) and Keith Brown (195).

The two-day, eight-team wrestling tournament runs Friday and Saturday in Silverton. The top four placers in each weight class will qualify for next weekend’s 5A state championships at Portland’s Memorial Coliseum.

Villarreal, who wrestled for West Albany the past two seasons, is a two-time state competitor. He made it to the 6A state championship at 152 as a junior.

Huerta, a senior, was a state qualifier at 220 last year.

Miller was a fifth-place state finisher as a freshman but missed the 2016-17 season with a knee injury.

Blisseck, who is also junior this winter, is looking to improve on last year’s fourth-place state medal at 160.

Brown, a freshman, will be making his first district appearance.

A total of 11 Warriors and nine Rebels are seeded for the MWC championships.


Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

Fifteen Sweet Home wrestlers are seeded for this weekend’s Special District 2 championships.

The Huskies are set to host the 12-team tournament that begins Friday and wraps up Saturday. The top four placers in each weight class will punch their tickets to the 4A state championships.

Robert Watkins (120), Travis Thorpe (138), Nich James (160) and Bryce Coulter (195) are all seeded first for Sweet Home, the defending district and state champion. Thorpe, a sophomore, fell to teammate Kobe Olson in last year’s 126 state title match while Coulter finished second at 182.

Fellow Huskies Bryce Porter (120), Jackson Royer (126), Ricky Yunke (145) and Boe Baxter (152) are all seeded second. Ricky Yunke was the state runner-up at 138 last season.

Sweet Home had four district champions in 2017: Royer (106), Olson (126), Jake Porter (145) and Coulter (182).


Sports Reporter

Load comments