The West Albany High wrestling team went 4-1 in duals while hosting the annual Tod Surmon Invitational on Saturday.

The Bulldogs dropped their second matchup of the day to Mountain View (66-7) but defeated Ridgeview (64-15), Eagle Point (37-32), Reynolds (57-24) and Stayton (77-6).

Mitchell Sorte won all five of his matches at 170 pounds for West. The senior recorded four pins.

Devon McIntire won three matches by fall at 138. Teammate Trona Free (152 and 160) finished 4-1 with two major decisions, one pin and one victory by decision.

The Bulldogs return to action next weekend at the Greater Valley Conference championships, which run Friday and Saturday in Salem.

Cottage Grove Invitational

COTTAGE GROVE — Crescent Valley earned the team title at the 22-school Cottage Grove Invitational.

The Raiders finished with 180 team points to edge second-place Glide’s 167.5. Corvallis placed fourth at 134.5 while Philomath and Cottage Grove tied for ninth with 109 points.

CV teammates Legend Lamer (106), Drew Roberts (120) and Brawley Lamer (138) all won their respective brackets. Roberts was named the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler after pinning Siuslaw’s Richard Huff in the championship match. 

Philomath’s Connor Kohn was the runner-up at 170 while Corvallis’ Porter Johnson took second at 182.

Mid-Valley Classic

Host South Albany collected 155 team points to win the Mid-Valley Classic.

Sprague finished the seven-team event with 140.5 points to place second while Central was third at 119.5.

South’s Logan Bond (106) and Chandler Villarreal (152) both topped the podium. 

Monroe Invitational

MONROE — Scio topped the 18-team field at the Monroe Invitational with 166.5 points.

4A Banks was second with 140 points while Harrisburg placed third at 127. Monroe (89) finished sixth, Santiam Christian (72) eighth and Central Linn (23) 15th.

Harrisburg had four champions: Chance Hendrickson (120), Chandler Strauss (152), Leithan Briggs (170) and Dax Bennett (182).

Scio’s Brandon Zeiher (145), Adam Stratemeyer (160) and Jacob Lowther (285) all won their respective brackets. SC’s Austin Bradford was the champion at 113.