Subscribe for 17¢ / day
Jake Costello

South Albany High's Jake Costello was a first-team all-Mid-Willamette Conference selection for the second straight year. 

South Albany High seniors Jake Costello and Jaden Guilford were both voted first-team all-Mid-Willamette Conference by the league’s boys basketball coaches.

Costello, a wing, was also a first-team pick last year while Guilford is a four-time all-conference choice at guard (two first-team, one second-team, one honorable mention). The duo helped lead South to the 5A state tournament a season ago for the first time in program history.

The seventh-ranked Rebels (19-5) received a play-in round bye and will be at home for Saturday’s state round of 16.

Lebanon senior Brandon Gonyea was a second-team all-MWC pick while teammates Josh Baker and Koby Williamson received honorable mention. South’s Kyle Miller and Seth Cullison also made honorable mention.

Silverton swept the individual awards with Cade Roth winning player of the year and Jamie McCarty coach of the year.

MWC girls

South Albany’s Katie Mayhue and Lebanon’s Ellie Croco were both first-team all-Mid-Willamette Conference selections.

Mayhue is a senior point guard while Croco is a sophomore post.

Rebels teammates Abby Sadowsky and Annalee Flores received honorable mention, as did Lebanon’s Josie Williamson, Maddy Romeo and Morgan Hopkins.

Silverton captured both individual awards as Maggie Roth was named player of the year and Tal Wold coach of the year.

PacWest boys

Jefferson’s Nate Neuschwander was voted PacWest Conference coach of the year.

Neuschwander helped lead the Lions to a 15-11 overall record and a second-place regular-season finish in the conference.

Jefferson sophomore guard Diego Rodriguez was voted first-team all-PacWest. Teammate Jayden Eriksen was second-team pick while Leon Romo and Danny Aguilar made honorable mention.

Scio junior Garrett Harrison was second-team selection. Fellow Loggers Lance Grossman and Hunter Gray received honorable mention.

Blanchet’s RJ Veliz was the player of the year.

PacWest girls

Jefferson senior Cassie Aguilar and Scio senior Katleyn Gray were both voted second-team all-PacWest.

The Lions had two honorable mention recipients in Amanda Bruce and Hailey Otsby. Scio’s McKenzie Reger also made honorable mention.

Salem Academy’s Sydney Brown and Aimee Smith were PacWest co-players of the year. The Crusaders’ Ben Brown won coach of the year.

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

WVL boys

Santiam Christian junior wing Zach Baugher was a first-team all-West Valley League selection.

Baugher and the third-seeded Eagles (21-5) open the 3A state tournament at 8:15 p.m. Thursday against No. 6 Cascade Christian.

Grant Carley and Josh Baugher were second-team picks for the Eagles. Sam Barton received honorable mention.

Dayton’s Tanner Lewis won player of the year while Horizon Christian’s Dave Brown and Dayton’s Ron Hop were co-coaches of the year.

WVL girls

Santiam Christian senior Kalli Ropp was a second-team all-West Valley League pick.

Eagles teammates Audrey Miller and Josie Risinger made honorable mention.

Dayton swept the individual awards with Shawnie Spink winning player of the year and Scott Spink coach of the year.


Sports Reporter

Load comments