You have permission to edit this article.
Edit
Review: 'Rockaway,' by Diane Cardwell
AP

Review: 'Rockaway,' by Diane Cardwell

{{featured_button_text}}
"Rockaway: Surfing Headlong into a New Life" by Diane Cardwell

"Rockaway: Surfing Headlong into a New Life" by Diane Cardwell (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

"Rockaway: Surfing Headlong Into a New Life" by Diane Cardwell; Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (272 pages, $26)

___

This memoir busts a lot of stereotypes in a delightful way. You might think of surfers as young blond dudes, not as middle-aged Black newspaper reporters. You might think of the best places to surf as Hawaii and California, not the gritty Rockaway Beach in the New York borough of Queens. But no.

In "Rockaway: Surfing Headlong Into a New Life," former New York Times reporter Diane Cardwell takes life in easy stride. In her 40s, her marriage has dissolved and she has gone from being half of a couple who host swank dinner parties in their Brooklyn townhouse, to living alone and wondering if she will ever find love again. And then on assignment in Montauk, she does finds love, quite unexpectedly - not with a person, but with the sport of surfing. Standing at water's edge, watching the surfers "rolling lazily along, skipping and cross-stepping up and down the length of their boards ... I felt as though I'd stumbled upon a secret tribe of magical creatures," she writes.

She wondered, "Maybe I could do that. I almost chuckled at the thought of myself, a once timid and not-so-athletic girl from Manhattan, surfing, but I could feel it taking hold."

Over time surfing not just took hold, it took over, uprooting her from sophisticated city life, moving her to Rockaway, where she buys a funky, beachy house and a couple of surfboards, finds a tribe, and practices diligently, fiercely this new life in the waves.

Surfing, Cardwell quickly learns, is not as easy as it looks. At her first lesson, she is such a novice she puts her wetsuit on backward. To get to that graceful, rolling ride she had admired in Montauk, she soon realizes, requires not just great balance, but incredible strength. She needs to practice, and to train.

"Rockaway" is not just a story about starting over, it's also a treatise on tenacity, on grabbing something you want and absolutely, stubbornly refusing to let go, no matter where it takes you. What an unexpected and inspiring book.

Visit the Star Tribune (Minneapolis) at www.startribune.com

0
0
0
0
0

Stay up-to-date on what's happening

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

"Far Out Man" by: Eric Utne; Random House (368 pages, $28) ___ Eric Utne's "Far Out Man" annoyed me until I started to love it. Let's get the autobiography's annoying stuff out of the way. Fad diets, sage burning and talking sticks pop up all too frequently. And maybe the Utne Reader founder inhaled too much sage because there are weird glitches that his editor should have caught, especially ...

Looking for a silver lining, we seized on how the stay-at-home mandates of living through a pandemic (and other dire things) would give us more time - hopefully, more time to read. We hadn't counted on how the angst and uncertainty of this year would demolish our attention span. Are you reading more than ever? I'm not. Are you having trouble concentrating? I am. Is there a solution? I think ...

"To Start a War: How the Bush Administration Took America Into Iraq" by Robert Draper; Penguin (496 pages, $30) ___ WASHINGTON - After the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, 2001, a blue-ribbon commission and congressional committees uniformly blamed the U.S. national security apparatus for failing to "connect the dots" of evidence that might have exposed Osama bin Laden's plot. Less than two ...

Here are the bestsellers for the week that ended Saturday, July 25, compiled from data from independent and chain bookstores, book wholesalers and independent distributors nationwide, powered by NPD BookScan (c) 2019 NPD Group. (Reprinted from Publishers Weekly, published by PWxyz LLC. (c) 2019, PWxyz LLC.) HARDCOVER FICTION 1. "Near Dark" by Brad Thor (Atria) Last week: - 2. "The Order" by ...

MINNEAPOLIS - When Angela Hoot reads a novel, she likes to identify with the protagonist. "I always put myself as the main character, like I'm part of the book," said Hoot, a patient liaison at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester. With James Patterson's newest novel, "1st Case," this was easier than usual. The main character - a tough, smart computer whiz - is named Angela Hoot. This is not a ...

"Once You Go This Far" by Kristen Lepionka; Minotaur (320 pages, $26.99) ___ The private eye category of mysteries continues to thrive because authors such as Kristen Lepionka who bring a fresh view. Following in the tradition of Sara Paretsky, Sue Grafton and Marcia Muller, the Shamus-winning Lepionka sculpts a realistic character in the form of P.I. Roxane Weary with intense, believable ...

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics

News Alert

Breaking News