MINNEAPOLIS — The 13th-ranked Oregon State wrestling team had No. 2 Minnesota almost down for the count, but the Gophers rallied from a nine-point deficit and won the final bout of the dual meet for a 21-18 victory over the Beavers on Saturday night.

With the meet tied at 18, it all came down to heavyweights Chad Hanke and Tony Nelson.

Hanke, ranked No. 6, got out to a 1-0 lead after a scoreless first period over No. 1 Nelson. The match was tied after three periods (1-1), and in overtime, Nelson grabbed a 2-1 lead.

After tying up the match at two in the fifth period, Hanke took the lead (3-2) with an escape in the seventh period, but it was an escape from Nelson in the following frame that tied the heavyweight bout up at three a piece.

Another point for eight seconds of riding time at the conclusion of the second OT gave Nelson and Minnesota the slimmest of victories, 4-3 in the match and 21-18 in the meet.

After falling behind 6-0 following the first two matches, OSU reeled off 12 straight points with victories by No. 5 Mike Mangrum with a 7-6 decision at 141; No. 8 Scott Sakaguchi from a fall (1:30) at 149; and No. 10 RJ Pena with another fall (2:27) at 157.

Following three straight victories by Minnesota at the 165, 174 and 184, sophomore and No. 10-ranked Taylor Meeks pulled off an 8-2 decision over Minnesota’s Scott Schiller (No. 7) at 197.

The Beavers (1-2) are at North Dakota State today.

(2) Minnesota 21, (13) Oregon State 18

125: David Thorn (UM) won by sudden victory over Joey Palmer (OSU), 12-8; 133: Chris Dardanes (UM) won by decision over Drew Van Anrooy (OSU), 11-6; 141: Mike Mangrum (OSU) won by decision over Nick Dardanes (UM), 7-6; 149: Scott Sakaguchi (OSU) won by fall over Thane Antczak (UM), 1:30; 157: RJ Pena (OSU) won by fall over Danny Zilverberg (UM), 2:27; 165: Cody Yohn (UM) won by major decision over Alex Elder (OSU), 16-5; 174: Alec Ortiz (UM) won by sudden victory over Austin Morehead (OSU), 7-5; 184: Kevin Steinhaus (UM) won by technical fall over Ty Vinson (OSU), 22-7; 197: Taylor Meeks (OSU) won by decision over Scott Schiller (UM), 8-2; HWT: Tony Nelson (UM) won by decision (2OT) over Chad Hanke (OSU), 4-3 (0:08 Riding Time)

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.