SALEM — Representative Sherrie Sprenger, R-Scio, has been honored as the "Cooperator of the Year" by the Oregon Rural Electric Cooperative Association.

The ORECA "Cooperator of the Year" is the organization's most prestigious award given to an elected official for their service on behalf of electric cooperative consumers.

Sprenger received the award at the organization's annual meeting last week

"It is very humbling to be recognized by my friends at ORECA with this award," Sprenger said in a statement. "Access to reliable and affordable electricity is one of the most important, yet often overlooked, areas of public policy. I look forward to continuing to work with industry leaders and consumers to maintain an efficient, cost effective and environmentally conscious power supply for Oregonians."

Consumers Power Inc. CEO Roman Gillen and Board President Russ Sapp presented the award. They praised Sprenger for her leadership in the 2017 legislative session on an issue that has the potential to raise electric bills on hundreds of thousands of Oregonians.

ORECA represents Oregon’s 18 electric cooperative utilities in Oregon that receive emission-free hydropower resources marketed by the Bonneville Power Administration. These co-ops serve in 30 of Oregon’s 36 counties and provide electricity to more than  200,000 customers.

Sprenger represents constituents in Linn and Marion counties, including the communities of Detroit, Gates, Idanha, Lebanon, Lyons, Mill City, Scio, Stayton, Sublimity, Sweet Home and Waterloo.